GSWF filter: genuine vs replacement
Last checked October 28, 2026
Either, if you pick a matching tier
The genuine GE GSWF is listed to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53 at the exact model level (IAPMO).
We found 24 replacement models listed by number: 11 cover the same standards, and 12 are listed to NSF/ANSI 42 only, which covers taste and chlorine, not lead.
Verdict: either is fine if you pick a matching tier, such as AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-D, Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-P, Maxblue MB-GSWF-D and 8 more. Skip the basic tiers if you want lead reduction.
Sources: public listings read October 28, 2026, linked below. How we check.
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict. How we make money.
Your options, by listed certification
Fit note: each replacement above carries the GSWF number in its own model name, so its seller presents it as a replacement for GSWF. We did not confirm fit with the replacement makers; confirm with your manual.
Side by side
| Filter | NSF/ANSI 42 | 53 | 401 | Lead claim | Rated | Listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Genuine GE GSWF | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 750 gal | IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3 4) |
| AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-D | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | 200 or 300 gal (two listed versions) | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3) |
| Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-P | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | 200 or 300 gal (two listed versions) | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Maxblue MB-GSWF-D | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Overbest OB-GSWF-D | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Waterdrop WDP-GSWF | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | 200 or 300 gal (two listed versions) | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3) |
JPR-GSWF | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 300 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-P | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 200 or 300 gal (two listed versions) | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-A | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Maxblue MB-GSWF-P | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Overbest OB-GSWF-P | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Waterdrop WDS-GSWF | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | 200 or 300 gal (two listed versions) | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Alpen ALF-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-S | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Aquarius AWF-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| DenaliPure WF-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing |
| Glacierfresh GF-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Glacierfresh GF-GSWF PLUS | No | Yes | No | Yes | 100 gal | IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Great Value SGF-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Maxblue MB-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Overbest OB-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | NSF listing |
| Rx SGF-GSWF Rx | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Spring Source SS-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Waterdrop WD-GSWF | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | NSF listing |
What the tiers mean for GSWF
Most replacement brands sell the same filter shape in up to three versions with almost the same name. For GSWF we found 12 basic, 6 mid and 5 top tier models.
- Basic tier, NSF/ANSI 42 only: listed for aesthetic claims such as chlorine, taste and odor. No health claims such as lead.
- Mid tier, adds NSF/ANSI 53: health effect claims. Check the listing for the exact contaminants; for these models it includes lead where marked above.
- Top tier, adds NSF/ANSI 401: a set of emerging compounds such as some medicines and pesticides, each named in the listing.
The model numbers differ by a letter or a suffix, so read the exact number on the box before you buy. NSF 42 vs 53 vs 401 explained.
Which refrigerators use the GSWF
114 model entries as linked by GE on its own model pages (one example, read October 28, 2026). Linked models have their own page. From GE's own product data: each model listed links this filter and no other.
- GE GFSF2KEXBB
- GE GTS22KHPBB
- GE Profile PDS20MBPBB
- GE Profile PDW22SISRSS
- GE Profile PFS22MBSBB
- GE Profile PNS20KSESS
- GE Profile PTS18SBSSS
- GE GFSF2KEXCC
- GE GFSF2KEXWW
- GE GTS22KHPCC
- GE GTS22KHPWW
- GE GTS22SBXSS
- GE Profile PDS20MBPCC
- GE Profile PDS20MBPWW
- GE Profile PDS20MBRBB
- GE Profile PDS20MBRCC
- GE Profile PDS20MBRWW
- GE Profile PDS20MBSBB
- GE Profile PDS20MBSWW
- GE Profile PDS20MBWWW
- GE Profile PDS20MCRBB
- GE Profile PDS20MCRCC
- GE Profile PDS20MCRWW
- GE Profile PDS20MFSBB
- GE Profile PDS20MFSCC
- GE Profile PDS20MFSWW
- GE Profile PDS20MFWBB
- GE Profile PDS20MFWCC
- GE Profile PDS20MFWWW
- GE Profile PDS20SBPLSS
- GE Profile PDS20SBPRSS
- GE Profile PDS20SBRLSS
- GE Profile PDS20SBRRSS
- GE Profile PDS20SBSLSS
- GE Profile PDS20SBSRSS
- GE Profile PDS20SCRLSS
- GE Profile PDS20SCRRSS
- GE Profile PDS20SFSLSS
- GE Profile PDS20SFSRSS
- GE Profile PDS22MBSBB
- GE Profile PDS22MBSCC
- GE Profile PDS22MBSWW
- GE Profile PDS22MBWBB
- GE Profile PDS22MBWCC
- GE Profile PDS22MBWWW
- GE Profile PDS22MCRBB
- GE Profile PDS22MCRCC
- GE Profile PDS22MCRWW
- GE Profile PDS22MFSBB
- GE Profile PDS22MFSCC
- GE Profile PDS22MFSWW
- GE Profile PDS22MFWBB
- GE Profile PDS22MFWWW
- GE Profile PDS22MISBB
- GE Profile PDS22MISCC
- GE Profile PDS22MISWW
- GE Profile PDS22MIWBB
- GE Profile PDS22MIWCC
- GE Profile PDS22MIWWW
- GE Profile PDS22SBRLSS
Show all 114 models
- GE Profile PDS22SBRRSS
- GE Profile PDS22SBSLSS
- GE Profile PDS22SBSRSS
- GE Profile PDS22SCPLSS
- GE Profile PDS22SCPRSS
- GE Profile PDS22SCRLSS
- GE Profile PDS22SCRRSS
- GE Profile PDS22SFSLSS
- GE Profile PDS22SFSRSS
- GE Profile PDS22SHRLSS
- GE Profile PDS22SHRRSS
- GE Profile PDS22SISLSS
- GE Profile PDS22SISRSS
- GE Profile PDSF0MFXBB
- GE Profile PDSF0MFXCC
- GE Profile PDSF0MFXWW
- GE Profile PFS22MBSWW
- GE Profile PFS22MBWBB
- GE Profile PFS22MBWWW
- GE Profile PFS22MISBB
- GE Profile PFS22MISWW
- GE Profile PFS22MIWBB
- GE Profile PFS22MIWWW
- GE Profile PFS22SBSSS
- GE Profile PFS22SISSS
- GE Profile PFSF2MJXBB
- GE Profile PFSF5NJWBB
- GE Profile PFSF5NJWCC
- GE Profile PFSF5NJWWW
- GE Profile PFSF5PJXBB
- GE Profile PFSF5PJXWW
- GE Profile PFSS2MJXSS
- GE Profile PFSS5PJXSS
- GE Profile PGCS1PJXSS
- GE Profile PGSS5PJXSS
- GE Profile PTS18SHSSS
- GE Profile PTS22LBMBB
- GE Profile PTS22LBMCC
- GE Profile PTS22LBMWW
- GE Profile PTS22LCSBB
- GE Profile PTS22LCSCC
- GE Profile PTS22LCSWW
- GE Profile PTS22LHPBB
- GE Profile PTS22LHPCC
- GE Profile PTS22LHPWW
- GE Profile PTS22LHSBB
- GE Profile PTS22LHSCC
- GE Profile PTS22LHSWW
- GE Profile PTS22SCRBS
- GE Profile PTS22SCSSS
- GE Profile PTS22SHSSS
- GE Profile PTS25LHSBB
- GE Profile PTS25LHSWW
- GE Profile PTS25SHSSS
Genuine GSWF specs from the maker
| Maker's rated capacity | GE's product page says 750 gallons; GE's own data sheet says 300 gallons. The two maker sources disagree, so check the label on your filter. |
|---|---|
| Maker's change interval | 6 months |
| Maker's own claim | “Certified to reduce particulates, chlorine-resistant cysts, lead and 5 other contaminants” |
| Source | GE product page, read October 28, 2026 |
Questions
Is a cheap replacement GSWF filter as good as genuine?
It depends on the exact model. Of the 24 replacements we found, 12 are listed to NSF/ANSI 42 only. Top tier models such as AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-D, Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-P and 3 more are listed to 42, 53 and 401. The genuine filter is listed to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53.
Does the GSWF filter remove lead?
The genuine filter's NSF/ANSI 53 listing includes lead reduction. Among replacements, 12 of 24 list lead reduction.
Where do these certification facts come from?
From the public NSF, IAPMO R&T and WQA listings, searched by the exact model number, with the read date shown. A second, separate lookup confirmed each row before publishing. We never call a filter certified unless the listing names that exact model.
Sources
- IAPMO listing for GE GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18905 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-D: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AQF-GSWF-D&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-D: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AMZN-GSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-P: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19604 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Maxblue MB-GSWF-D: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MB-GSWF-D&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Overbest OB-GSWF-D: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=OB-GSWF-D&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Waterdrop WDP-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WDP-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Waterdrop WDP-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for JPR-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=JPR-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for JPR-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19772 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AQF-GSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF-P: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-A: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AMZN-GSWF-A&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Maxblue MB-GSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MB-GSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Overbest OB-GSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=OB-GSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Waterdrop WDS-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WDS-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Waterdrop WDS-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for AQUA CREST AQF-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AQF-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Alpen ALF-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-GSWF-S: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AMZN-GSWF-S&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Aquarius AWF-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for DenaliPure WF-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WF-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for DenaliPure WF-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19859 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Glacierfresh GF-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19550 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Glacierfresh GF-GSWF PLUS: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19606 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Great Value SGF-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Maxblue MB-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MB-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Overbest OB-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=OB-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Rx SGF-GSWF Rx: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Spring Source SS-GSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/20165 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Waterdrop WD-GSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WD-GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF search for GSWF, no listing found: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=GSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026)
- WQA search for GSWF, no listing found: https://find.wqa.org/find-products (keyword search) (read October 28, 2026)
- GE product page: https://www.geapplianceparts.com/store/parts/spec/GSWF (read October 28, 2026)
Spot an error? Report it and we freeze the row until it is rechecked.