PartAnswers

MSWF filter: genuine vs replacement

Last checked October 28, 2026

Either, if you pick a matching tier

The genuine GE MSWF is listed to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53 at the exact model level (IAPMO).

We found 25 replacement models listed by number: 10 cover the same standards, and 14 are listed to NSF/ANSI 42 only, which covers taste and chlorine, not lead.

Verdict: either is fine if you pick a matching tier, such as AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-D, Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-P, Maxblue MB-MSWF-D and 7 more. Skip the basic tiers if you want lead reduction.

Sources: public listings read October 28, 2026, linked below. How we check.

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict. How we make money.

Your options, by listed certification

Genuine GE MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3 4 5 6) (read October 28, 2026)
Top tier AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-D
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3) (read October 28, 2026)
Top tier Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-P
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) (read October 28, 2026)
Top tier Maxblue MB-MSWF-D
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Top tier Overbest OB-MSWF-D
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Top tier Waterdrop WDP-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3) (read October 28, 2026)
Mid tier AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-P
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) (read October 28, 2026)
Mid tier Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-A
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Mid tier Maxblue MB-MSWF-P
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Mid tier Overbest OB-MSWF-P
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Mid tier Waterdrop WDS-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · Lists lead reduction · NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Alpen ALF-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity not stated · No lead reduction claim listed · IAPMO R&T listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-S
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Aquarius AWF-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity not stated · No lead reduction claim listed · IAPMO R&T listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier DenaliPure WF-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Glacierfresh GF-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) (read October 28, 2026)
Listed Glacierfresh GF-MSWF PLUS
No NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 100 gal · Lists lead reduction · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Great Value SGF-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity not stated · No lead reduction claim listed · IAPMO R&T listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier INSIGNIA NS-MSWF-1
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier INSIGNIA NS-MSWF-1-C
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Maxblue MB-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Overbest OB-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Rx SGF-MSWF Rx
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity not stated · No lead reduction claim listed · IAPMO R&T listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Spring Source SS-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · IAPMO R&T listing (read October 28, 2026)
Basic tier Waterdrop WD-MSWF
NSF/ANSI 42No NSF/ANSI 53No NSF/ANSI 401
Rated capacity 300 gal · No lead reduction claim listed · NSF listing (read October 28, 2026)

Fit note: each replacement above carries the MSWF number in its own model name, so its seller presents it as a replacement for MSWF. We did not confirm fit with the replacement makers; confirm with your manual.

Side by side

FilterNSF/ANSI 4253401Lead claimRatedListing
Genuine GE
MSWF
YesYesNoYes300 galIAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3 4 5 6)
AQUA CREST
AQF-MSWF-D
YesYesYesYes300 galNSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3)
Amazon Basics
AMZN-MSWF-P
YesYesYesYes300 galNSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2)
Maxblue
MB-MSWF-D
YesYesYesYes300 galNSF listing
Overbest
OB-MSWF-D
YesYesYesYes300 galNSF listing
Waterdrop
WDP-MSWF
YesYesYesYes300 galNSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3)
AQUA CREST
AQF-MSWF-P
YesYesNoYes300 galNSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2)
Amazon Basics
AMZN-MSWF-A
YesYesNoYes300 galNSF listing
Maxblue
MB-MSWF-P
YesYesNoYes300 galNSF listing
Overbest
OB-MSWF-P
YesYesNoYes300 galNSF listing
Waterdrop
WDS-MSWF
YesYesNoYes300 galNSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2)
AQUA CREST
AQF-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing
Alpen
ALF-MSWF
YesNoNoNonot statedIAPMO R&T listing
Amazon Basics
AMZN-MSWF-S
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing
Aquarius
AWF-MSWF
YesNoNoNonot statedIAPMO R&T listing
DenaliPure
WF-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing
Glacierfresh
GF-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galIAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2)
Glacierfresh
GF-MSWF PLUS
NoYesNoYes100 galIAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2)
Great Value
SGF-MSWF
YesNoNoNonot statedIAPMO R&T listing
INSIGNIA
NS-MSWF-1
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing
INSIGNIA
NS-MSWF-1-C
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing
Maxblue
MB-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing
Overbest
OB-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing
Rx
SGF-MSWF Rx
YesNoNoNonot statedIAPMO R&T listing
Spring Source
SS-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galIAPMO R&T listing
Waterdrop
WD-MSWF
YesNoNoNo300 galNSF listing

What the tiers mean for MSWF

Most replacement brands sell the same filter shape in up to three versions with almost the same name. For MSWF we found 14 basic, 5 mid and 5 top tier models.

  • Basic tier, NSF/ANSI 42 only: listed for aesthetic claims such as chlorine, taste and odor. No health claims such as lead.
  • Mid tier, adds NSF/ANSI 53: health effect claims. Check the listing for the exact contaminants; for these models it includes lead where marked above.
  • Top tier, adds NSF/ANSI 401: a set of emerging compounds such as some medicines and pesticides, each named in the listing.

The model numbers differ by a letter or a suffix, so read the exact number on the box before you buy. NSF 42 vs 53 vs 401 explained.

Which refrigerators use the MSWF

162 model entries as linked by GE on its own model pages (one example, read October 28, 2026). Linked models have their own page. From GE's own product data: each model listed links this filter and no other.

Show all 162 models
  • GE Profile PSC23SGRSS
  • GE Profile PSC23SHMBS
  • GE Profile PSC23SHNBS
  • GE Profile PSC23SHTSS
  • GE Profile PSC25MSWSS
  • GE Profile PSC25NGSBB
  • GE Profile PSC25NSWSS
  • GE Profile PSC25PSWSS
  • GE Profile PSCF3RGXBB
  • GE Profile PSCF3RGXCC
  • GE Profile PSCF3RGXWW
  • GE Profile PSCF3TGXBB
  • GE Profile PSCF3TGXWW
  • GE Profile PSCF5RGXBB
  • GE Profile PSCF5RGXCC
  • GE Profile PSCF5RGXWW
  • GE Profile PSCF5TGXBB
  • GE Profile PSCF5TGXWW
  • GE Profile PSCF5VGXBB
  • GE Profile PSCF5VGXWW
  • GE Profile PSCS3RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSCS3TGXSS
  • GE Profile PSCS3VGXSS
  • GE Profile PSCS5RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSCS5TGXSS
  • GE Profile PSCS5VGXSS
  • GE Profile PSDF3YGXBB
  • GE Profile PSDF3YGXWW
  • GE Profile PSDF5RGXBB
  • GE Profile PSDF5RGXCC
  • GE Profile PSDF5RGXWW
  • GE Profile PSDF5YGXBB
  • GE Profile PSDF5YGXWW
  • GE Profile PSDS3YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSDS5RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSDS5YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSDW3YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSF23MGWBB
  • GE Profile PSF23MGWCC
  • GE Profile PSF23MGWWW
  • GE Profile PSF26MGWBB
  • GE Profile PSF26MGWCC
  • GE Profile PSF26MGWWW
  • GE Profile PSF26NGWBB
  • GE Profile PSF26NGWWW
  • GE Profile PSF26PGWBB
  • GE Profile PSF26PGWWW
  • GE Profile PSF26RGWBB
  • GE Profile PSF26RGWWW
  • GE Profile PSFW3YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSH23PSWSS
  • GE Profile PSH25MGWBV
  • GE Profile PSH25MGWCV
  • GE Profile PSH25MGWWV
  • GE Profile PSH25PGWBV
  • GE Profile PSH25PGWWV
  • GE Profile PSH25PSWSS
  • GE Profile PSHF6RGXBB
  • GE Profile PSHF6RGXCC
  • GE Profile PSHF6RGXWW
  • GE Profile PSHF6TGXBB
  • GE Profile PSHF6TGXWW
  • GE Profile PSHF6YGXBB
  • GE Profile PSHF6YGXWW
  • GE Profile PSHF6YGZBB
  • GE Profile PSHF6YGZWW
  • GE Profile PSHS6RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSHS6TGXSS
  • GE Profile PSHS6VGXSS
  • GE Profile PSHS6YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSHS6YGZSS
  • GE Profile PSHW6YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSHW6YGZSS
  • GE Profile PSI23MGWBV
  • GE Profile PSI23MGWCV
  • GE Profile PSI23MGWWV
  • GE Profile PSI23NGWBV
  • GE Profile PSI23NGWWV
  • GE Profile PSIC3RGXBV
  • GE Profile PSIC3RGXCV
  • GE Profile PSIC3RGXWV
  • GE Profile PSIC5RGXBV
  • GE Profile PSIC5RGXCV
  • GE Profile PSIC5RGXWV
  • GE Profile PSS23MSWSS
  • GE Profile PSS26MSWSS
  • GE Profile PSS26NSWSS
  • GE Profile PSS26PSWSS
  • GE Profile PSSF3RGXBB
  • GE Profile PSSF3RGXCC
  • GE Profile PSSF3RGXWW
  • GE Profile PSSF3RGZBB
  • GE Profile PSSF3RGZCC
  • GE Profile PSSF3RGZWW
  • GE Profile PSSS3RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSSS7RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSSS9RGXSS
  • GE Profile PSTW6YGXSS
  • GE Profile PSW23PSWSS
  • GE Profile PSW23RSWSS
  • GE Profile PSW26PSWSS
  • GE Profile PSW26RSWSS

Genuine MSWF specs from the maker

Maker's rated capacity300 gallons
Maker's change interval6 months
Maker's own claim“Certified to reduce particulates, chlorine-resistant cysts, lead, asbestos and other contaminants”
SourceGE product page, read October 28, 2026

Questions

Is a cheap replacement MSWF filter as good as genuine?

It depends on the exact model. Of the 25 replacements we found, 14 are listed to NSF/ANSI 42 only. Top tier models such as AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-D, Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-P and 3 more are listed to 42, 53 and 401. The genuine filter is listed to NSF/ANSI 42 and 53.

Does the MSWF filter remove lead?

The genuine filter's NSF/ANSI 53 listing includes lead reduction. Among replacements, 11 of 25 list lead reduction.

Where do these certification facts come from?

From the public NSF, IAPMO R&T and WQA listings, searched by the exact model number, with the read date shown. A second, separate lookup confirmed each row before publishing. We never call a filter certified unless the listing names that exact model.

Sources

  1. IAPMO listing for GE MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18905 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  2. NSF listing for AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-D: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AQF-MSWF-D&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  3. IAPMO listing for AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-D: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  4. NSF listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AMZN-MSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  5. IAPMO listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-P: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19604 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  6. NSF listing for Maxblue MB-MSWF-D: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MB-MSWF-D&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  7. NSF listing for Overbest OB-MSWF-D: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=OB-MSWF-D&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  8. NSF listing for Waterdrop WDP-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WDP-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  9. IAPMO listing for Waterdrop WDP-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  10. NSF listing for AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AQF-MSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  11. IAPMO listing for AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF-P: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  12. NSF listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-A: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AMZN-MSWF-A&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  13. NSF listing for Maxblue MB-MSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MB-MSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  14. NSF listing for Overbest OB-MSWF-P: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=OB-MSWF-P&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  15. NSF listing for Waterdrop WDS-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WDS-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  16. IAPMO listing for Waterdrop WDS-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  17. NSF listing for AQUA CREST AQF-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AQF-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  18. IAPMO listing for Alpen ALF-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  19. NSF listing for Amazon Basics AMZN-MSWF-S: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=AMZN-MSWF-S&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  20. IAPMO listing for Aquarius AWF-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  21. NSF listing for DenaliPure WF-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WF-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  22. IAPMO listing for DenaliPure WF-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19859 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  23. IAPMO listing for Glacierfresh GF-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19550 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  24. IAPMO listing for Glacierfresh GF-MSWF PLUS: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19606 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  25. IAPMO listing for Great Value SGF-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  26. NSF listing for INSIGNIA NS-MSWF-1: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=NS-MSWF-1&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  27. NSF listing for INSIGNIA NS-MSWF-1-C: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=NS-MSWF-1-C&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  28. NSF listing for Maxblue MB-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MB-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  29. NSF listing for Overbest OB-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=OB-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  30. IAPMO listing for Rx SGF-MSWF Rx: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  31. IAPMO listing for Spring Source SS-MSWF: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/20165 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  32. NSF listing for Waterdrop WD-MSWF: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WD-MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
  33. NSF search for MSWF, no listing found: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=MSWF&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026)
  34. WQA search for MSWF, no listing found: https://find.wqa.org/find-products (keyword search) (read October 28, 2026)
  35. GE product page: https://www.geapplianceparts.com/store/parts/spec/MSWF (read October 28, 2026)

Spot an error? Report it and we freeze the row until it is rechecked.

Analytics cookies help us see which pages help. No ads. Details