WFCB filter: genuine vs replacement
Last checked October 28, 2026
Check before you buy
We found no certification listing for the genuine Frigidaire PureSource WFCB itself in NSF, IAPMO R&T or WQA, as of our last check.
We found 10 replacement models listed by number: 2 cover NSF/ANSI 42, 53 and 401, and 4 are listed to NSF/ANSI 42 only, which covers taste and chlorine, not lead.
Verdict: check before you buy. The most complete listings we found belong to replacements such as EFF-WFCBA and Water Specialist WSWFCB-U; the genuine filter's own certification could not be confirmed in a public listing.
Sources: public listings read October 28, 2026, linked below. How we check.
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no cost to you. It never changes a verdict. How we make money.
Your options, by listed certification
No certificate we found names WFCB itself. Frigidaire's data sheet points to IAPMO R&T listings for its WFCB-P200 and WFCB-P400 versions (NSF/ANSI 42 and 53), but those are different model numbers, so we do not count them as a listing for WFCB.
Fit note: each replacement above carries the WFCB number in its own model name, so its seller presents it as a replacement for WFCB. We did not confirm fit with the replacement makers; confirm with your manual.
Side by side
| Filter | NSF/ANSI 42 | 53 | 401 | Lead claim | Rated | Listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EFF-WFCBA | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | 200 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3) |
| Water Specialist WSWFCB-U | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | 200 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2 3) |
EFF-WFCBAP | Yes | Yes | No | No | 200 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
EFF-WFCBAS | Yes | Yes | No | No | 200 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Water Specialist WSWFCB | Yes | Yes | No | No | 200 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Water Specialist WSWFCB-A | Yes | Yes | No | No | 200 gal | NSF listing · IAPMO R&T listing (more files: 2) |
| Aquarius AWF-WFCB | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Great Value SGF-WFCB | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Rx SGF-WFCB Rx | Yes | No | No | No | not stated | IAPMO R&T listing |
| Spring Source SS-WFCB | Yes | No | No | No | 300 gal | IAPMO R&T listing |
What the tiers mean for WFCB
Most replacement brands sell the same filter shape in up to three versions with almost the same name. For WFCB we found 4 basic, 4 mid and 2 top tier models.
- Basic tier, NSF/ANSI 42 only: listed for aesthetic claims such as chlorine, taste and odor. No health claims such as lead.
- Mid tier, adds NSF/ANSI 53: health effect claims. Check the listing for the exact contaminants; for these models it includes lead where marked above.
- Top tier, adds NSF/ANSI 401: a set of emerging compounds such as some medicines and pesticides, each named in the listing.
The model numbers differ by a letter or a suffix, so read the exact number on the box before you buy. NSF 42 vs 53 vs 401 explained.
Which refrigerators use the WFCB
83 model entries as listed by Frigidaire (maker page, read October 28, 2026). Linked models have their own page. From the compatibility check on Frigidaire's WFCB page; each model listed returns WFCB as its only water filter.
- Frigidaire FLS26Z2GKB
- Frigidaire FRS23R4CB
- Frigidaire FRS3HR35KB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR35KB
- Frigidaire FSC23R5DB
- Frigidaire GLHT188WHB
- Frigidaire GLRT188WDB
- Frigidaire PHT189WHKM
- Frigidaire FLS26Z2GKW
- Frigidaire FRS23R4CQ
- Frigidaire FRS23R4CW
- Frigidaire FRS266ZDSB
- Frigidaire FRS26R4CW
- Frigidaire FRS3HR35KM
- Frigidaire FRS3HR35KS
- Frigidaire FRS3HR35KW
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5HMB
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5HQ
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5HW
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5JB
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5JMB
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5JQ
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5JSB
- Frigidaire FRS3HR5JW
- Frigidaire FRS3R3JB
- Frigidaire FRS3R3JW
- Frigidaire FRS3R4EB
- Frigidaire FRS3R4EQ
- Frigidaire FRS3R4EW
- Frigidaire FRS3R5EMB
- Frigidaire FRS3R5ESB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR35KM
- Frigidaire FRS6HR35KS
- Frigidaire FRS6HR35KW
- Frigidaire FRS6HR4HB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR4HW
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5HB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5HMB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5HQ
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5HSB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5HW
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5JB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5JMB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5JQ
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5JSB
- Frigidaire FRS6HR5JW
- Frigidaire FRS6KR5JSB
- Frigidaire FRS6LE4FB
- Frigidaire FRS6LE4FQ
- Frigidaire FRS6LE4FW
- Frigidaire FRS6LE5HSB
- Frigidaire FRS6R3EW
- Frigidaire FRS6R3JB
- Frigidaire FRS6R3JW
- Frigidaire FRS6R4EB
- Frigidaire FRS6R4EQ
- Frigidaire FRS6R4EW
- Frigidaire FRS6R5EMB
- Frigidaire FRS6R5ESB
- Frigidaire FSC23R5DSB
Show all 83 models
- Frigidaire FSC23R5DW
- Frigidaire GLHT188WHW
- Frigidaire GLHT218WHB
- Frigidaire GLHT218WHW
- Frigidaire GLRT188WDK
- Frigidaire GLRT188WDS
- Frigidaire GLRT188WDW
- Frigidaire GLRT188WJW
- Frigidaire GLRT218WDB
- Frigidaire GLRT218WDK
- Frigidaire GLRT218WDQ
- Frigidaire GLRT218WDS
- Frigidaire GLRT218WDW
- Frigidaire GLRT218WDZ
- Frigidaire PHT189WHSM
- Frigidaire PHT219WHKM
- Frigidaire PHT219WHSM
- Frigidaire PLHT19WEB
- Frigidaire PLHT19WEK
- Frigidaire PLT189WJKM
- Frigidaire PLT189WJSM
- Frigidaire WRS3R3EW
- Frigidaire WRS6R3EW
Genuine WFCB specs from the maker
| Other numbers the maker lists | 218710901, 218710902, 218717805, 240389101, 240389102, 240394501, 242007903, 5303917752, 5303917836, 5303917937, 5303918017, 5304461598, NGRG-2000, RENEW1CB, RENEWFCB, RF-200, SWF1CB, SWFCB, WF1CB |
|---|---|
| Maker's rated capacity | 200 gallons |
| Maker's change interval | 6 months |
| Maker's own claim | “Filters Out up to 99% of Contaminants*: Reduces Chlorine Taste & Odor, Particulates Class I, Cysts, Lead, Mercury, Pesticides*, Insecticides,* BPA, Asbestos, Pharmaceuticals and more.” |
| Source | Frigidaire product page, read October 28, 2026 |
Questions
Is a cheap replacement WFCB filter as good as genuine?
It depends on the exact model. Of the 10 replacements we found, 4 are listed to NSF/ANSI 42 only. Top tier models such as EFF-WFCBA and Water Specialist WSWFCB-U are listed to 42, 53 and 401. We could not find a public listing for the genuine filter.
Does the WFCB filter remove lead?
We could not confirm a lead claim for the genuine filter in a public listing. Among replacements, 0 of 10 list lead reduction.
Where do these certification facts come from?
From the public NSF, IAPMO R&T and WQA listings, searched by the exact model number, with the read date shown. A second, separate lookup confirmed each row before publishing. We never call a filter certified unless the listing names that exact model.
Sources
- NSF listing for EFF-WFCBA: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=EFF-WFCBA&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for EFF-WFCBA: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Water Specialist WSWFCB-U: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WSWFCB-U&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Water Specialist WSWFCB-U: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for EFF-WFCBAP: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=EFF-WFCBAP&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for EFF-WFCBAP: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for EFF-WFCBAS: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=EFF-WFCBAS&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for EFF-WFCBAS: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Water Specialist WSWFCB: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WSWFCB&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Water Specialist WSWFCB: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF listing for Water Specialist WSWFCB-A: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WSWFCB-A&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Water Specialist WSWFCB-A: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19603 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Aquarius AWF-WFCB: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Great Value SGF-WFCB: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Rx SGF-WFCB Rx: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/19573 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO listing for Spring Source SS-WFCB: http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/20165 (read October 28, 2026, second check October 28, 2026)
- NSF search for WFCB, no listing found: https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?TradeName=WFCB&submit3=Search (read October 28, 2026)
- IAPMO search for WFCB, no listing found: https://pld.iapmo.org/ (Listed Model search "WFCB") (read October 28, 2026)
- WQA search for WFCB, no listing found: https://find.wqa.org/find-products (keyword search) (read October 28, 2026)
- Frigidaire product page: https://www.frigidaire.com/en/p/accessories/refrigerator-accessories/refrigerator-accessories-and-consumables/water-filters/WFCB (read October 28, 2026)
Spot an error? Report it and we freeze the row until it is rechecked.